A Beginner's Guide To Acting English
A Beginner's Guide To Acting English
A Beginner's Guide To Acting English
imusti

A Beginner's Guide To Acting English

  • Publish Date: 2010-07-01
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Shappi Khorsandi

Regular price $13.44 Sale price $55.48

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Hilarious and heartwarming, this memoir is the story of growing up in a strange land where you don't speak the language, everyone smells like milk, and to top it off, the Ayatollah wants you and your family dead
In the tradition of Nancy Mitford's The Pursuit of Love and Gerald Durrell's My Family and Other Animals, comes a story of a young narrator in the midst of her eccentric family. But rather than landed gentry or bohemian travelers, it's a mad extended Iran clan who flee Tehran to 1980s Britain after the fall the Shah. Five year old Shappi and her beloved brother Peyvand arrive with their parents in Londonall cold weather and strange foodwithout a word of English. If adapting to a new culture isn't troubling enough, it soon becomes clear that the Ayatollah's henchmen are in pursuit. With the help of MI5, Shappi's family go into hiding. So apart from checking under the family car for bombs every morning, Shappi's childhood is like any other kidsswings in the park, school plays, kiss-chase, and terrorists.

More from this collection

Customer Reviews