Once Upon a Tart . . .: Soups, Salads, Muffins, and More
Knopf

Once Upon a Tart . . .: Soups, Salads, Muffins, and More

  • Publish Date: 2006-05-02
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Frank Mentesana;Jerome Audureau;Carolynn Carreno

Regular price $19.48 Sale price $128.45

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

A cookbook in the tradition of The Silver Palate and The Barefoot Contessa . . .

In New York City, famous for its food and restaurants, locals are reverential about the bakeshop and caf Once Upon a Tart. For more than a decade, they have been lining up at the store mornings and afternoons, waiting patiently for their signature scones, muffins, soups, salads, sandwiches, cookies, andof coursetarts. And pretty much since the day the caf opened, patrons have been askingsometimes beggingthe proprietors for their sweet and savory recipes. Good news: the wait is over.

In Once Upon a Tart, the cafs founders and co-owners, Jerome Audureau (a New Yorker via France) and Frank Mentesana (a New Yorker via New Jersey), go public with their culinary secrets (We dont have any, says Frank. Thats our biggest secret of all) and recipes. They also tell their inspiring success story, from selling tarts wholesale out of a warehouse in Long Island City to opening their now-famous outpost in Soho.

In nine delicious chapters ranging from savory tarts to cookies, the authors instruct and advise home cooks on everything from how to make the flakiest tart crust (keep the dough cold) to making sandwiches (condiments are key) to how to diet (you want half the calories, eat half the scone). Once Upon a Tart is packed with more than 225 easy-to-prepare recipes, including all the store classics that have earned Frank and Jerome the devotion of their customers: Caramelized-Leek-and-Celery Tart, Creamy Carrot Soup with Fresh Dill, Pork Loin Sandwich with Frise and Rosemary-Garlic Aioli, Buttermilk Scones with Dried Currants, BananaPoppy Seed Muffins, and Strawberry-Rhubarb Tart with Crisp Topping.

Says Frank, We believe that deep down, everyone is a cook. Adds Jerome, And that a little butter in your life is a good thing.


More from this collection

Customer Reviews