The Films of Agnes Moorehead
Brand: Scarecrow Press

The Films of Agnes Moorehead

  • Publish Date: 2013-07-11
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Author: Axel Nissen

Regular price $83.12 Sale price $142.85

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Before she achieved immortality on the long-running situation comedy Bewitched, Agnes Moorehead had established a distinguished career as a character actress. After her screen debut in Citizen Kane (1941), Moorehead became one of the most familiar female faces on the silver screen. For moviegoers of the 1940s and 50s, she was the quintessential character actress, earning four Academy Award nominations during a career that saw her gain the respect of her peers in all four major entertainment media: radio, film, theater, and television.

In The Films of Agnes Moorehead, Axel Nissen looks at the actresss sixty-three feature films between 1941 and 1973. Each film is profiled here, with particular emphasis placed on the films that merit closer attention: Citizen Kane, The Magnificent Ambersons, Mrs. Parkington, Dark Passage, All That Heaven Allows, The Left Hand of God, The Swan, Tempest, The Bat, and Hush Hush, Sweet Charlotte. Arranged in chronological order, the discussion of these films highlights Mooreheads contribution to each feature. In addition to analyzing her performances, the author discusses the development of Mooreheads career as a whole, along with her relationship with various studios, directors, producers, and fellow actors.

Based on extensive interviews with the actresss surviving friends and co-workers, as well as detailed archival research into primary sources, this book brings to light new information not just about Mooreheads work in film, but on her life and career in general. Though this book will certainly appeal to movie buffs, The Films of Agnes Moorehead will also be of interest to students and scholars of classic Hollywood films, including those interested in women and film, gender studies, and film history.

More from this collection

Customer Reviews